Welcome to the O2 Community

Has your question already been answered? See the community FAQ's

Discussions and Feedback

Reply
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Fibre Optic Upgrade

 

BT are installing Fibre Optic cables to some of the transmitters in the Madeley Telford area does any one know why.

Is it ready of upgrade to 4g or to improve the capacity of the cell

Posts: 97,163
Topics: 758
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

No idea @Anonymous

Have you asked this on the BT Forum? I am sure they would be better placed to answer....Smiley Wink

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Level 69: Guiding Light
Posts: 16,549
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

[ Edited ]

Where did you get this information from? Fibre optic cables are for home or office broadband. Nothing to do with 4G.

https://www.cable.co.uk/guides/fibre-broadband-vs-4g-mobile-broadband/

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2



Funniest-Thread-2
Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

Bt have been trying to compete with Virgin Media for a long time and they are expanding.

I know that Virgin are expanding again and laying more cable, so this may be BT's answer Smiley Happy

Posts: 97,163
Topics: 758
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

[ Edited ]

I have just been given this information by a good friend

If BT are installing fibre to the transmitters this is for backhaul capacity.

Remember in an IP orientated world all mobile comms are using data not physical lines these days and backhaul will be over fibre / point to point microwave as opposed to copper cable. Some info from BT here https://www.btwholesale.com/shared/docu ... _05_09.doc

 

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Posts: 97,163
Topics: 758
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

My lucky day....which is lucky for the OP...I have been given further info on this very specialised subject

"When using your phone over the data network, your handset sends data to the local mast. That data then leaves the o2 gsm network and goes onto the Internet. Where 4g is live this is normally through fibre optic cables. This is necessary to provide the high bandwidth required. The data goes to the Internet servers, responses are received, and then data goes back via the fibre optic network to your nearest transmitter to come back to your phone. This all happens in milliseconds.

So as BT are adding fibre optics to your local masts in Telford this will be to increase capacity and if 4g is not there yet will almost certainly be a precursor to its arrival in the coming months"

Credit to @Anonymous

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Level 69: Guiding Light
Posts: 16,549
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

I didn't know that. I stand corrected.

I DO NOT WORK FOR O2



Funniest-Thread-2
Posts: 97,163
Topics: 758
Registered: ‎14-01-2013

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade


@Bambino wrote:

I didn't know that. I stand corrected.


I didn't either @Bambino I was just lucky to get the information from some people who understood a lot more than me  (and thats not hard Smiley Wink)

*The Game Is On*

Most-Helpful-MemberFriendliest-MemberMost-Useful-GuideBest-Feedbacker
Posts: 83,254
Topics: 577
Registered: ‎04-01-2009

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

We all live and learn....I had an idea how it worked without the detailed indepth explanation. Good to know Smiley Happy

Anonymous
Posts: 0

Re: Fibre Optic Upgrade

The vast majority of the UK internet backbone is fibre, by extending this out to phone masts and domestic broadband (virgin and bt infinity) we all benefit from greater bandwidth. I used to be a beta tester for Pipex broadband before it was sold, they always had excellent network capacity and your login defined what part of the network you were on - they had spare cpacity that was never used in everyday use, the beta testers had this to ourselves - I never complained about congestion!!