cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading from Simplicity 12 month contract

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi, I'm relatively new to o2, I took out a 12mth simplicity sim only contract. On the "Ask Lucy" frequently asked questions, it says that "you can upgrade your simplicity contract to add a phone at any time, but there maybe an increase in your monthly bill etc" - however, when I rang to upgrade I was told I had to wait 9 months? I've explained that this contradicts what the website says, but with no joy - can anyone clarify this?
Many thanks
Matt
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15

Anonymous
Not applicable
Yes, the website is wrong. Well actually its missing a crucial bit of info. You can upgrade a simplicity 30 day plan at any time, but you will have to change tariff and would pay more per month for the same allowance.
The 12 month simplicity plans are a relatively recent addition by comparison so im guessing that faq predates their introduction and hasnt been updated.
Message 2 of 16

Anonymous
Not applicable
Thanks for the reply, I presume the chances of O2 waiving the 9mth criteria based on the misleading website are relatively low?
Message 3 of 16

Anonymous
Not applicable
I presume the chances of O2 waiving the 9mth criteria based on the misleading website are relatively low?

Good luck with that. If O2 can get away with changing their customers' contracts without informing them, despite it costing us MORE...I doubt they'd give a toss about a little bit of false advertising.
Oh and...welcome to O2! slight_smile
Message 4 of 16

Anonymous
Not applicable
Do i detect a touch of bitterness there ryan? grin
But basically thats right. Not the bit about being allowed to change contracts without telling us, but the bit about having no chance of getting them to waive the 9 month thingy.
Message 5 of 16

Anonymous
Not applicable