cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unauthorised calls

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

This is my first time posting. I have been with 02 for quite a few years, I have always been generally happy. I had my phone stolen in Spain and someone managed to rack up £3000+ of calls before I realised my phone had gone and was then cancelled. I have a communication with 02 and my insurance company about getting this resolved and I found the guy I spoke to  - South African guy called Andre - extremely helpful. He went above and beyond to help me. My grievances are not with the first line customer service which was excellent but this:

1) the default position of 02 was that I was liable for all costs and that I should set up a repayment plan with the debt assistance team and be switched to incoming calls only. Making me feel like I was at fault for what are clearly fraudulent calls by a criminal. 

2) If strange activity occurs on my bank account, and my bank aren't 100% sure it's me - they immediately block my card and try to contact me. Why did 02 simply email me 3 times each email notifying me that my current bill had gone up £1000? I was in a foreign country with no phone and did not read these emails until 3 days after the event (at which time I was still of the opinion that I had simply lost the phone not been pick pocketed). It's peverse to think that they believed I was using my phone on EU Data Roaming tarriff non stop until I hit charges of £3000. And then to seemingly not want to consider anything other than making me pay in full.

Thanks to Andre I might - and it's not a certainty by any means - be able to sort this out without having to pay £3000 - money which I do not have. But I will be making sure 02 listen to my feedback about how they deal with such cases. 

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6

Bambino
Level 84: Resplendent
  • 23190 Posts
  • 1028 Topics
  • 3688 Solutions

This is from the Terms and Conditions: