cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor O2/iphone reception

Anonymous
Not applicable
I have just taken out an iphone contract with O2 after being with T-Mobile for 10 years. I live in a rural area near Edinburgh, and have always had good reception with T-Mobile and Nokia handsets. The iphone's reception with O2 is very poor, and I can only connect in certain inconvenient locations around my property.

I studied the network coverage maps for O2, and they showed the same level of reception for my postcode as T-Mobile. Where does the problem lie? Is it O2's coverage that's at fault, or the iphone? Is there any solution for this? I only jumped to O2 because I wanted to stay legal and not unlock the iphone - now I wish I had! Despite the reception, I do LOVE my iphone!
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14

Anonymous
Not applicable
With your old T-Mobile phone, can you walk around the house and search for networks. See if it picks up networks where the iPhone wont? Might help you pinpoint if the O2 coverage in your area is patchy or not.
Message 2 of 15

Anonymous
Not applicable
I've now taken the iphone out and about, and it seems there's a bit of a bad patch around our property. I was in another nearby rural area last night and had 4 bars! I'm getting 1 or if I'm lucky 2 at our place.

Is there nothing I can do now I'm signed up to this 18 month contract?
Message 3 of 15

Anonymous
Not applicable
i agree iphone reception is absolutely cr@p. i was already on o2 and i had very good reception fo 3G and GPRS.

My iphone simply doesn't pick up EDGE and i'm having real problems getting txts coming through. my girlfriendthinks I'm ignoring her! but its the bloody phone not receiving them.
Message 4 of 15

Anonymous
Not applicable
Had no reception issues with my iPhone at all although my 3 contract having the ability to pick up o2, Orange and 3 does beat it when on the train!
Message 5 of 15

Anonymous
Not applicable