cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In cancellation period - what phone/network/contract next?

Anonymous
Not applicable
Hi

Long term user of Orange UK. I don't really mind Orange; in Glasgow where I stay I have a really good reception with my Nokia 6301.

But I need a smartphone. I've got to be online for access to emails/twitter. I work in IT so I'm probably a geek and need to be online 24x7. Can't miss a news or sport story and all that....

My questions are:

- what is the best network out there, and specifially the 3G network? I don't want to get annoyed by poor connections/rates. Bear in mind I'm in Glasgow, but from the providers network coverage data it looks a fight between Orange, O2 and Vodafone.

- what is the best smartphone - Been looking at
new Iphone,
HTC Magic(Android), - lack of 3.5mm headphone jack is putting me off
Nokia 5800

this is the hardest question. The more I look at the new iPhone, it's probably a no-brainer! So many apps and has been around for a year or so now.
I would use,
twitter
camera
video
gmail
youtube
iplayer
safari/chrome
google maps
linkedin
RSS
facebook
flickr
games
picaso
blogspot
...now I know some of the apps may or may not exist, but these are what I use daily at my laptop. Perhaps the HTC Magic/Andriod combo will have these apps soon?

My other concern is that Apple make these massive announcements for features that should already exist ie cut and paste. Seems pretty lame, what else is missing, that is standard elsewhere? Will Android become a bigger player in a year or so?

- should I stay with Orange and wait for their Android phone?

- who has the best customer service? Best reputation?

It's such a big decision because of 18th month contracts (can't afford to buy just phone). I guess I can try ALL the phones/networks, and return within cooling off period if not happy? Anyone else done this?