Did you mean: 

I got scammed!

Number23
Level 1: Joiner
  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Hi Folks

I'm new to O2 having just been switched over from Virgin Mobile.

I was contacted whilst at work by somone claiming to be from O2 saying they could offer me a discount on my bill and a new handset and airtime deal...

40% discount on my bill and a new Samsung S23 and airtime deal for £18pm

I can't believe I fell for it but I did

However, I checked my O2 account and saw that a iPhone 14 had been ordered and just knew something was not right.

I immediately changed my account password and security question / answer.

I contacted O2 directly via 202 and spoke with a great customer service advisor. I told him I was the victim of a scammer and he helped me report it as fraud and gave me advice on what to do and what would happen next.

I had explained to him that the scammer had offered a Samsung S23 but the order showed an iPhone 14. He explained that this is what the scammers do, they offer an item but order a different one so that they can pretend there has been a mistake with the order and ask you to send it back to them and they'll sen you the correct item.

They don't, they keep what you sent and you get billed for it!

So, he advised me that when the item is delivered that the scammers will call to say that they have seen that the item has been delivered and apologise for the mistake and that they'll send you the correct item and offer you a compensation credit etc.

They'll say that they will send you a pre-paid mail bag for the item so that you can return it.

The mail bag will send it straight to the scammer, not to O2.

The O2 advisor told me that the O2 fraud team would contact me for the details of what happened and advise on how to return the handset to O2.

The advisor managed to put a block on the handset so it cannot be used.