cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Usage - that old Chestnut!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi, Im new to O2 and this forum.

I moved from EE on 20th Feb after 17 years. I have always had a 500mg Pay as you go package and never, in 17 years gone over that. I do use facebook, whatsapp and gmail. Dont do twitter, or watch You tube (only on wifi) .

I wentto O2 becasue the coverage in my area is bette. I also got a new phone - a SonyXperia Z3. In the 3 weeks Ive been with O2 I have used all my data and had to buy another bundle!! I cant go on for another 23 months like this! My new phone has shed loads of apps installed that I will never use and cant delete and whenever I go to disable them i get a warning about causing problems with other apps and data. Im guessing this is scaremongering or just Sony covering themselves if, in an unlikely event, something does go wrong.

Im planning on turning all these apps off but really - is there something else I should know about O2 and the way it grabs data that might be different to EE??!!

Any thoughs gratefully received.

regards

Ray

Message 1 of 12
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

gmarkj
Level 66: Unequalled
  • 11995 Posts
  • 94 Topics
  • 1120 Solutions
some quick options are:
-don't log in to any apps (Facebook, Twitter, etc) and use the web/mobile versions as this will only use data when you choose.
-make sure auto update for apps (in Play store) is off and only update when on Wi-Fi.
-restrict background data usage so apps only use data when in them (not as necessary without apps being logged in)

Those are ones that spring to mind that should help.
You can also check what is using data (settings-->data usage) and set limits there so the phone warns you.

NB - This is where I found it on my Z1 running Lollipop, which may be different on a Z3 running Marshmallow...