Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very slow 4G speed

JD0963
Level 1: Joiner
  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

Hi, I am new to O2 (Switched over from Three, whom I was able to get 20-30mb 4G speed)

I got my new phone (Galaxy S8+) a few days ago, however I have noticed the 4G speed in Manchester (M4 4FB) is painfully slow - 0.9mb to be exact. I couldn't load anything on social media or youtube this morning, and when I tried to download an app it said estimated time 20 mins.

I spoke on live chat for an hour and half, during which I was transferred to the wrong department about 10 times, and asked to confirm security questions the same amount of times which was frustrating. I did everything they told me to do and the issue still remains.

My question is - where do I go from here? Can I just not have 4g on my phone? How long do I get to cancel my contract and return the device to O2?

Many thanks for any help

Jordan

Message 1 of 56
55 REPLIES 55

jonsie
Level 94: Supreme
  • 92905 Posts
  • 608 Topics
  • 6913 Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

EE have good 4G everywhere!! since they merged with BT they must have one of the biggest infostructures in the UK! 

Message 12 of 56

jonsie
  • 92905 Posts
  • 608 Topics
  • 6913 Solutions

They will certainly be my choice should I need to get another contract in this country. 

Message 13 of 56

JD0963
  • 5 Posts
  • 1 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

I am going to leave it until after the 14th (which is when the "planned" maintenence will be taking place) and if there is still no improvement, I am just cancelling the contract and going with EE. 

For anyone who sees this and lives in Manchester - AVOID O2 if you expect to browse Facebook/Youtube on 4G.

Current DL speed - Unknown as it was so slow it couldn't find the nearest server on the speedtest app.

Also been completely ignored by O2 regarding this grin 

Message 14 of 56

Marjo
  • 7881 Posts
  • 468 Topics
  • 55 Solutions