cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should I change from Pay and Go?

Anonymous
Not applicable

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

I have been on O2 for many many years, always on Pay and Go.

At the moment I have a Sony z1 compact but the side button has broke and I need a new phone. I am on the £15 big bundle where I get...

• 750 minutes

• 2000 texts

• 2gb data

I never go over this amount, and I usually keep phones until they break, this one I have had nearly 2 years.

I am debating changing onto contract, but don't see the benifits. But I am a contract novice.

I'm looking at getting the Sony Z5 compact, I can get it on 24 month contract as either...

£109.99 upfront and £28.50 a month, or £33.50 a month, both for...

• 3gb data

• Unlimited texts

• Unlimited minutes.

I would prefer the £109.99 upfront one.

So, am I right in thinking, if I do £28.50 times 24(months) (=£684), plus the £109.99 upfront= £793.99 is what I'd pay in total, then I'd start another contract for another phone?

If this is the case, if I compare with Pay and Go, if I stay on the £15 big bundle and do £15 times 24 months=  £360, plus the price of the phone upfront £299.99 I would be paying £659.99 for 24 months.

Staying on Pay and Go would mean I save £137.

Is there any advantage of me chaning onto contract?

On contract, once I've paid £299.99 for the phone, will my monthly contract reduce?

Everyone is telling me to change onto contract but I can't see the beniftis. Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Thank you!

Message 1 of 8
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122902 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7468 Solutions

Hi @Anonymous Like you I was on Payg till about 3 years ago. I made the move to contract and honestly have never looked back  I never go over my allowances and pay a fixed sum every month. I found with PAYG my top ups were often quite expensive. Some info here about changing.