O2 Community

Get help, share tips and chat

Other Products & Services

Reply
Community Coordinator
Toby
Posts: 5,200
Registered: ‎13-08-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

Hi guys,

Just to clarify, adamtemp64's link leads to the correct info on which numbers cost what.

@BugBum: Please send me a private message and I can give you a hand with this.

Cheers, Toby
We were all new here once, be welcoming! :smileyhappy:

Get involved:
• New to the community? This is how you get help.
• Want to know who we are? Come and say hi to us.
• Want to have a chat? Drop me a private message.

Please use plain text.
Level 9: Fired up
Richard_Allen
Posts: 850
Registered: ‎03-09-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

I used to call an 0300 number on my mobile all the time, because the local branch of Remploy is on an 0300 number.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Level 1: Joiner
mrandyyu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎13-08-2013

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

0300 numbers (and 0330, 0333) were rolled out by Ofcom to be companion numbers to your traditional 01 or 02 local area numbers. They are treated in exactly the same manner like 01 and 02 numbers, in that:

 

  • They cost the same as a call to an 01 or 02 numbers, or
  • They are free to call if you have inclusive minutes, whether on contract or pre-pay

The same is true whether you're calling from a mobile (any UK network) or landline.

 

Perhaps the OP had run out of inclusive minutes?

Please use plain text.
Edx
Level 1: Joiner
Edx
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎31-01-2014

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

hahaha

 

That O2 livechat was hilariously stupid. I found myself on this thread because HMRC's Tax Helpline is an 0300 number. 

 

 

Please use plain text.
MI5
Posts: 21,491
Topics: 199
Solutions: 2,724
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile


Edx wrote:

hahaha

 

That O2 livechat was hilariously stupid. I found myself on this thread because HMRC's Tax Helpline is an 0300 number. 

 

 


Did it help with your problem or can we help you some more?

Samsung S3 i9305 Dual SIM. Asus Fonepad.
HTC One M7. Samsung ATIV s. Xperia Z1.
Please use plain text.
perksie
Posts: 24,748
Topics: 229
Solutions: 1,536
Registered: ‎29-07-2008

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

[ Edited ]

Edx wrote:

hahaha

 

That O2 livechat was hilariously stupid. I found myself on this thread because HMRC's Tax Helpline is an 0300 number. 

 

 



Which comes out of your call allowance, are you having a problem with it?

Please support the Disasters Emergency Committee appeal to send help to the Philippines.
Text DEC to 70000 (free text) to donate £5 or online: http://www.dec.org.uk/appeals

Sky Unlimited Broadband - Legacy O2 Simplicity 20 - O2 Wallet - Nexus 4 Android 4.4.4
Please use plain text.
damien1
Posts: 6,700
Topics: 86
Blog Posts: 0
Registered: ‎13-04-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

Can we help you
Please use plain text.
Pablo
Posts: 1,055
Topics: 13
Kudos: 158
Solutions: 79
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

[ Edited ]

Looks like the OP is calling a certain type of 0300 number, not used by a charity/business/landline service but a service provider who then keeps his telephone number connected for 2,3,4 hours at a time in exchange for a little time for international calling.

 

In other words, its aimed at circumventing international dialling charges, whilst falsely inflating network traffice, which is the most applicable Ts and Cs breach. 

 

It can eventually result in termination of contract.

 

EDIT: And it looks like the web chat advisor was bang on the money with it too...

I used to work for O2. I don't any more.
Please use plain text.
adamtemp64
Posts: 13,396
Topics: 222
Kudos: 949
Solutions: 1,018
Registered: ‎13-08-2008

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile

@pablo

Yes the circumvention if that is what the op was doing but the op never said they were using that type of service so we can only answer on facts in front of us.

I wish that ofcom would prevent the 03 range being used for these services.
2 iPhone 5s 32gb on 4g 8gb tariff 1 iPhone 4s 16gb sim only on business contract
iPad 3 wifi-3g 64gb
My first mobile was in 1995 a CM-R111 from sony on Cellnet.
Henstridge Rural South Somerset (still 2g only and it is 2014)
Please use plain text.
Pablo
Posts: 1,055
Topics: 13
Kudos: 158
Solutions: 79
Registered: ‎04-04-2012

Re: Calling 0300 numbers from your O2 mobile


adamtemp64 wrote:
@pablo

Yes the circumvention if that is what the op was doing but the op never said they were using that type of service so we can only answer on facts in front of us.

I wish that ofcom would prevent the 03 range being used for these services.

Yep the OP didn't, but if you read the webchat transcript you see the webchat advisor specifically talking about a certain number and then saying what I said myself.

I'd bet proper money on this being the case.

I used to work for O2. I don't any more.
Please use plain text.