O2 Community

Get help, share tips and chat

Other Devices (Nokia, Blackberry, etc)

Reply
aldaweb
Posts: 1,389
Topics: 42
Kudos: 150
Solutions: 56
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Accepted Solution

Z10 4G

Now that O2 have announced a date for 4G and given that I now have a 4G SIM in the Z10 should the mobile network settings be showing 4G? mine only offers 2G & 3G, 3G only or 2G only.

My bosses Z10 on Vodafone has the 4G option.

BB Z10 4G (O2), Nexus 7 LTE (O2), NoteII LTE (3), iPhone 4S (giffgaff) , Nokia 625 (EE).

Reviews: Blackberry Z30 ; Nokia Lumia 1020 ; Samsung S4 Mini Part 1 ; Samsung S4 Mini Pt. 2
Please use plain text.
Level 36: Perceptive
PapaDug
Posts: 1,651
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

That is a very good question!

 

I am going to assume though that this is the kind of thing that O2 can control using a software update or service books (does the Z10 even use service books?).

 

It could be that you discover the option is available once the service has been enabled?

 

Has your boss always had the 4G option since he got the phone?

 

:smileyfrustrated:

Please use plain text.
aldaweb
Posts: 1,389
Topics: 42
Kudos: 150
Solutions: 56
Registered: ‎06-12-2008

Re: Z10 4G

Yes he has. 

 

I'm responsible for looking after the phones so checked when transferring everything from his 9900.

 

Perhaps O2 enable it when you take out a 4G contract but keep it off otherwise to encourage upgrades. (cynic :smileywink:)

BB Z10 4G (O2), Nexus 7 LTE (O2), NoteII LTE (3), iPhone 4S (giffgaff) , Nokia 625 (EE).

Reviews: Blackberry Z30 ; Nokia Lumia 1020 ; Samsung S4 Mini Part 1 ; Samsung S4 Mini Pt. 2
Please use plain text.
Level 36: Perceptive
PapaDug
Posts: 1,651
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

I have only ever had 3G as the maximum option as well...so it must be an O2 restriction!

 

Is your Z10 unlocked? As a wee test ( and I accept no responsibility for any damage that might be caused :smileywink: ) what happens if you put your bosses (or any other vodafone) SIM into your phone? Does the 4G option appear?

Please use plain text.
aldaweb
Posts: 1,389
Topics: 42
Kudos: 150
Solutions: 56
Registered: ‎06-12-2008

Re: Z10 4G

[ Edited ]

Yes it's unlocked, always unlock my phones.

 

Not able to try that ATM as he's away, have a GiffGaff, old T-mobile cut down and Three SIMs.

Don't expect the GG or T-mo SIMs to have any difference. 

With 3 SIM i get:

 

LTE/HSPA+/UMTS/GSM

HSPA+/UMTS/GSM

LTE/HSPA+/UMTS

HSPA+/UMTS

GSM

 

initially then it reverts to 3G & 2G or 3G, so it seems as though it's set on the SIM by Network

 

edit: the same options came up initially when I put the O2 SIM back in but then reverted to 3G & 2G, 3g or 2G.

BB Z10 4G (O2), Nexus 7 LTE (O2), NoteII LTE (3), iPhone 4S (giffgaff) , Nokia 625 (EE).

Reviews: Blackberry Z30 ; Nokia Lumia 1020 ; Samsung S4 Mini Part 1 ; Samsung S4 Mini Pt. 2
Please use plain text.
Rycal
Posts: 405
Topics: 11
Kudos: 51
Solutions: 46
Registered: ‎12-08-2012

Re: Z10 4G

In some phones a software update may be required before the device can be used on a 4G network.

I work for O2 but my comments and opinions posted here are solely my own and do not reflect those of Telefonica.

Nokia Lumia 1020 | Blackberry Z10 | Blackberry 9900 | Samsung Galaxy Note II
Please use plain text.
Kuno
Posts: 50
Topics: 7
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

[ Edited ]

After upgrading to a 10.2 leak, I'm now seeing a 4G option

 

Z10 4G

Curve 6300 | Bold 9790 | Z10 | Sony Xperia Z1 Compact
Please use plain text.
Level 36: Perceptive
PapaDug
Posts: 1,651
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

Ooooooooo! :smileyhappy:

 

p.s. How is the 10.2 leak for you?

Please use plain text.
Kuno
Posts: 50
Topics: 7
Kudos: 2
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎05-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

Only installed it last night, but seems to be working well.  Some apps weren't restored from the backup for some reason, but I can't remember which ones most of them were so I couldn't have used them much!!

 

Some useful new features

Curve 6300 | Bold 9790 | Z10 | Sony Xperia Z1 Compact
Please use plain text.
Level 36: Perceptive
PapaDug
Posts: 1,651
Registered: ‎06-03-2013

Re: Z10 4G

BlackBerry World should show you which Apps you have "bought" but aren't installed under the "Available" tab :smileyhappy:

 

Anything you've noticed thats different...and better?

Please use plain text.