O2 Community

Get help, share tips and chat

Reply
Level 2: Apprentice
dfstrottersfan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

I have an HTC unlocked phone but the O2 SIM does not work in it.

When I try to put in my work O2 contract sim card I get an error unrecognised sim card.

I am new to O2 - and have never had a sim with a pin code before.

Is this what is causing the HTC phone problems. I have tried a Virgin sim a T-Mobile vodafone and 3network sim in the phone - they all work.

Any ideas that I can try to get this working.

Allan
Please use plain text.
Level 9: Fired up
Anonymous
Posts: 1,487
Registered: ‎14-09-2010

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

Since it works with the other SIMs, that points to it being the O2 SIM at fault. Have you tried another different O2 SIM in it?
And to put it bluntly, is O2 the best deal for you? :smileyhappy:

Which HTC is it?
Please use plain text.
Level 2: Apprentice
dfstrottersfan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

It is a company Sim . i.e. My company are paying for it.
I have no choice but to use O2.


I am just trying to put the Sim in a phone that is better than a "Nokia classic"
Please use plain text.
Level 7: Part Timer
Strange_Visitor
Posts: 1,001
Registered: ‎18-04-2008

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

When you say unlocked, do you mean it was originally locked to a provider rather than being SIM free? If so, how was it unlocked? Did you get an unlock code from the original service provider?

SV
Handset: Samsung Galaxy S 8GB, Android 2.3.3
Tablet: Google Nexus 7, Android 4.1
Please use plain text.
Level 2: Apprentice
dfstrottersfan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

When you say unlocked, do you mean it was originally locked to a provider rather than being SIM free? If so, how was it unlocked? Did you get an unlock code from the original service provider?
SV



No bought it unlocked - ebay from China!!!
Please use plain text.
Level 2: Apprentice
petemitchell
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎03-05-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

When you say unlocked, do you mean it was originally locked to a provider rather than being SIM free? If so, how was it unlocked? Did you get an unlock code from the original service provider?
SV


No bought it unlocked - ebay from China!!!


Well, in that case, you might want to try out other sim cards on that phone then. If it is not going to work for you with other sim cards used, there might be a problem with the phone itself, don't you think so?
Please use plain text.
Level 2: Apprentice
dfstrottersfan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

When you say unlocked, do you mean it was originally locked to a provider rather than being SIM free? If so, how was it unlocked? Did you get an unlock code from the original service provider?
SV


No bought it unlocked - ebay from China!!!

Well, in that case, you might want to try out other sim cards on that phone then. If it is not going to work for you with other sim cards used, there might be a problem with the phone itself, don't you think so?



So far its O2 and Tesco that don't work. Are they the same network? I still think it is something to do with the o2 Sim having a pin
Please use plain text.
Level 1: Joiner
kiowen
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

Virgin piggy backs T-Mobile network, so SIMs from will eork in each others phone. Suggest you try an Orange or Vodaphone (Asda are on Voda) SIM. Tesco is on O", and 3 has a dual agreement with O2 for 2G service coverage, so dont ttry those.

sounds at first glance like it isn't unlocked
Please use plain text.
Level 2: Apprentice
dfstrottersfan
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

HTC phone - unlocked - but O2 SIM does not work

Thanks it was supposedly a clean 'new' phone.

Anyone point me to how to unlock an HTC phone?
Please use plain text.