Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iMessage Problem

PiedPiper
Level 5: Ponderer
  • 98 Posts
  • 13 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

My partner and I were both away in London at the weekend during which time we sent each other a few text messages, none of which arrived. On investigation I noticed that iMessage, which I normally keep disabled, was enabled on both phones and I can only presume that this was enabled by the iOS9 installation. The result was that none of the messages arrived, even when we were both using the same hotel wifi later on.

This was easily cured by turning off iMessage, simple, but what am I missing here? Can anyone shed some light on what is going on, or not going on to be precise? In there days of unlimited text message contracts what is the point of iMessage?

Message 1 of 24
23 REPLIES 23

Cleoriff
Level 94: Supreme
  • 122832 Posts
  • 826 Topics
  • 7467 Solutions

I am no expert with iPhones but I do know from the amount of posts on here... there have been many problems with this iOS 9 upgrade.

As for your last sentence asking what is the point of iMessage in this day and age of unlimited texts? Only someone experienced with iPhones could answer that. I have personally never understood it at all. So any reply will be a learning exercise for me as well wink

Veritas Numquam Perit

Girl in a jacket
Message 2 of 24

jonsie
  • 93188 Posts
  • 609 Topics
  • 6967 Solutions

PiedPiper
Level 5: Ponderer
  • 98 Posts
  • 13 Topics
  • 0 Solutions

This is interesting:-

http://www.imore.com/why-cant-i-send-regular-text-messages-my-iphone-6-or-6-plus

However the screenshot shown for the Message settings is different from mine. Specifically it shows a "Send as SMS" toggle which looks like exactly what is needed, but I don't see it Can anyone see this?

Message 4 of 24

MI5
  • 144206 Posts
  • 634 Topics
  • 27635 Solutions
I can't say I've looked specifically since iOS9 but the send as SMS always used to be there.