cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High data usage on iphone 5

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi - never used the forum before as I am a new customer, but have twice tried 02 customer service on this and got nowhere. So, here goes... I have had my iphone 5 for just over a month. It is mostly used by my daughter who likes to imessage her friends. She also uses a few apps lightly, mostly games and photo creators etc. She doesn't use facebook or twitter and has no access to email. However, within the first two weeks of having it, 02 tells us she has used 1.75Gb of data. And I just can't figure out how this has happened. I am no expert on all things mobile, but have installed an Onavo app which tells me she has barely used 100kb. I got her an additional 500mb when the message came through from 02 and it was gone in a couple of days. she had hardly used anything and was messaging over wifi.

Can anyone suggest what might be using so much data?

Thanks

Message 1 of 15
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Anonymous
Not applicable

I think youve covered things very well there bambino.

And yes the iPhone auto switches to 3G from WiFi when in sleep mode to save on battery juice.

Location services uses data as well does Siri.

Here are a few tips i've picked up from other communities and my own experience.

Network Reset: reset the network connection…
Make sure you know [or have saved] your various wifi passwords so you can quickly set them up again.
Settings, General, Reset, Reset Network Settings.

Cellular Data& 3G; turn it Off when you don't need it…
This may sound messy, but it is really no more so than turning off WiFi, or Bluetooth, when you know you will not be using it.  Maybe Apple will move this setting to the front page of Settings, as they have done with Bluetooth in iOS 6
Settings, General, Cellular, Cellular Data, Off.

iCloud Backup: Turn it Off except when you need to do a Backup to iCloud…